

AGENDA OF ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING FOR THE BOARD OF EDUCATION FOR THE SASKATCHEWAN RIVERS SCHOOL DIVISION HELD IN THE BOARD ROOM, 545 - 11th STREET EAST MONDAY, NOVEMBER 21, 2011 5:00 P.M.

A G E N D A

1. CALL TO ORDER BY D.A. MONIUK, SUPERINTENDENT OF BUSINESS ADMINISTRATION

- 2. ADOPTION OF AGENDA
- 3. ELECTION OF BOARD CHAIR
- 4. ELECTION OF VICE-CHAIR

5. DEPUTY CHAIR ROTATION:

- November, 2011
- December, 2011, January, February, 2012
- March, April, May, 2012
- June, September, October, 2012

6. **APPOINTMENT OF:**

(a) <u>Auditor:</u>

Director's recommendation:

"That the firm of Deloitte and Touche LLP be the auditors for the school division for the year 2012."

(b) <u>Agent of Record (Insurance Agent or Broker):</u> Director's recommendation:

"That Marsh Canada Limited be the agent of record for the school division for the year 2012."

(c) <u>Solicitor:</u>

Director's recommendation:

"That Lyle Zuk of the firm of Wilcox Zuk Chovin be the solicitor for the school division for the year 2012."

Arne Lindberg Roger Provencher John McIvor Grant Gustafson

7. ESTABLISH THE FOLLOWING:

(a) <u>Regular meeting date, hour and place:</u> Recommendation:

"That the Regular meetings of the Saskatchewan Rivers School Division be held, subject to change, the first and third Monday of each month at 6:00 p.m., with the Closed Session at 5:00 p.m., in the Board Room, Education Centre, 545 - 11th Street East, and that the Chair and the Director be authorized to cancel a Regular meeting if the agenda does not warrant holding a meeting."

(b) <u>Management meeting date, hour and place:</u> Recommendation:

"That the Management meetings of Saskatchewan Rivers School Division be held, subject to change, the second Monday of each month at 5:00 p.m. in the Board Room, Education Centre, $545 - 11^{th}$ Street East, and that the Chair and the Director be authorized to cancel a Management meeting if the agenda does not warrant holding a meeting."

(c) <u>Approval of accounts:</u> Recommendation:

"That the Superintendent of Business Administration be authorized for the year 2012, in accordance with Section 105(B) of <u>The Education Act</u>, <u>1995</u>, to certify all accounts for payment with the exception of final payments on capital projects."

(d) <u>Signing officers for the school division:</u> Recommendation:

"That the Board Chair and the Superintendent of Business Administration be the signing officers for the school division, with the Vice-Chair to sign in the absence of the Board Chair and the Business Manager or the Director of Education to sign in the absence of the Superintendent of Business and Administration."

(e) <u>Amount of temporary credit with a financial institution in Prince Albert:</u> Recommendation:

"That the School Division establish with CuCorp Financial Services Ltd. a credit limit of five million dollars for the year 2012."

(f) <u>Taxable portion of indemnity to be paid members during the year:</u> Recommendation:

"That for the year 2012, 2/3 of the trustee indemnity be shown as income and the other 1/3 be declared as non-taxable in lieu of general expenses and so shown on the T-4 slips." Page 3 – Organizational Meeting (November 21, 2011)

8.

(g)	Trustee Remuneration Guidelines:								
	The current Trustee Remuneration guidelines are attached.								
	Recommendation: <i>"That Trustee Remuneration Guidelines be approved for the 2011-</i>								
		2012		11 5					
		01)							
EXTI	ERNAL	BOAR	RD APPOINTMENTS:						
(a)									
(a)	 <u>Employee Bargaining Committee:</u> Out of Scope Bargaining Committee (Board Chair/Vice-Chair): 								
	•	2010-2		<u>2011-2012</u>					
			Hollick	2011-2012					
		Wayne							
		wayne	Steen						
(b)	Onore	otional	Committoo						
(b)	Operational Committee:								
	•	2010-2	nt Discipline Committee:	<u>2011-2012</u>					
			<u>Gustafson</u>	2011-2012					
			indberg						
		John M	8						
		Darlene Rowden		·					
		Durien	e Rowaen						
(c)	<u>Committees with Third Parties:</u>								
(0)	Saskatchewan Assessment Management Agency:								
	-	2010-2	0	2011-2012					
		Barry Hollick		2011 2012					
	•	Saskat	Saskatchewan High School Athletic Association:						
		2010-2011		2011-2012					
		Jaimie Smith-Windsor							
	•	City of Prince Albert:							
		(i)	Joint City/School Board Com	mittee					
			<u>2010-2011</u>	<u>2011-2012</u>					
			Arne Lindberg						
			Rodney Thomson						
		(ii)	Transit Advisory Committee						
			2010-2011	<u>2011-2012</u>					
			Barry Hollick						
		/····		a * **					
		(iii)	Community Services Advisor	-					
			<u>2010-2011</u>	<u>2011-2012</u>					
			Grant Gustafson						

(d) <u>School Community Council Groups:</u>

The current School Community Council Clusters are as follows:

<u>Cluster 1:</u> - St. Louis Community School - Westview Community School	<u>2010-2011</u> Darlene Rowden	<u>2011-2012</u>
- West Central School Alternate:	Wayne Steen	
<u>Cluster 2:</u> - Canwood Community School - Prince Albert Collegiate Institute (PACI)	<u>2010-2011</u> Rodney Thomson	<u>2011-2012</u>
- Spruce Home School Alternate:	Jaimie Smith-Windson	r
Cluster 3:-Arthur Pechey School-Carlton Comprehensive High School-John Diefenbaker SchoolAlternate:	<u>2010-2011</u> Barry Hollick George McHenry	<u>2011-2012</u>
Cluster 4:-East Central School-Riverside Community School-W.J. Berezowsky SchoolAlternate:	<mark>2010-2011</mark> Grant Gustafson Arne Lindberg	<u>2011-2012</u>
<u>Cluster 5:</u> - Christopher Lake School - Meath Park School	2010-2011 Jaimie Smith-Windson	<u>2011-2012</u>
- Queen Mary Community School Alternate:	Grant Gustafson	
<u>Cluster 6</u> : - Big River Community High School - Debden School	<u>2010-2011</u> Roger Provencher	2011-2012
- T.D. Michel Community School Alternate:	John McIvor	
<u>Cluster 7:</u> - Birch Hills School - King George Community School	<u>2010-2011</u> Wayne Steen	<u>2011-2012</u>
- Kinistino School Alternate:	Darlene Rowden	
<u>Cluster 8:</u> - Osborne School - Princess Margaret School	<u>2010-2011</u> Arne Lindberg	<u>2011-2012</u>
- Wesmor Community High School Alternate	Rodney Thomson	

<u>Clust</u> -	ter 9: École Vickers School	<u>2010-2011</u> George McHenry	<u>2011-2012</u>	
-	Vincent Massey Community Wild Rose School	y School Alternate:	Barry Hollick	
<u>Clust</u>	<u>ter 10:</u>	<u>2010-2011</u>	<u>2011-2012</u>	
-	Shellbrook School Red Wing School		John McIvor	
-	W.P. Sandin High School	Alternate:	Roger Provencher	

Recommendation:

"That the appointments to the respective Boards and Committees be ratified."

9. ADJOURNMENT